Sailor

“I’m married to the ocean,”

a sailor once said to me.

“My heart wandered by the shore

and became a captive of the sea.

 

Sand beneath my feet,

I have sank into the depths of her.

I close my eyes,

let myself go,

and drift with abandon upon her tide.

 

The ground below quickly becomes

the sky above my head

As she pulls me ever further

into her womb

And surrounds me with her love.

 

Never was it so easy

to think myself worthy

of such a genuine embrace;

Allowing me to float away so freely,

Welcoming me always

as though I had never left.”

 

With one more quick breath

he turned to bid farewell,

Stepped out into his beloved’s

prismatic waters,

returning like a mollusk

to her warm shell

Hey you! Got something to say?

