Last Words

When I met you I didn’t know what I wanted.  I was running from something, unaware of the abyss I had stepped into.  When I met you.  But now my view is less hazy.  And I see you and me more clearly.  I can’t say for sure that I know what I want even now, but I know what I don’t want.  What I don’t want is to end up a coward afraid of losing it all having gained nothing to begin with.  And what I’ve gained from you came to me more after you left than anytime we were together.  I’m not saying this is your fault.  Nothing is your fault.  You are you and I am me.  Attempting to get you to see things as I do is a fool’s game.  And not to dismiss all of the wonderful, loving ways you touched me and influenced my life.  You were exactly what I needed.  When I met you.  But time wears on and patience wears thin.  Love is something to be worked out but you want to play pretend.  A child’s game.  And a child I am no more. 

Hey you! Got something to say?

