mother

everything you’re not
and that makes you bitter
but I will never blind my eyes
the way you do,
bind my heart the way you do;
I am not a quitter.
And those things that you say,
it’s a shame to let
such a beautiful heart go to waste.
It’s as if all your strength
has gone to me,
as you grow weary,
admit defeat;
a troubled mind seeking release
from the betrayal of our senses.
Seems all of this is relentless
and senseless.
When will you open your eyes?
When will you move beyond?
I know all you want
is a world in which you belong.
But that will never be the way to go about it.

Hey you! Got something to say?

