Somebody

In a sea of faces
Mine is the one nobody sees.
I’m the background music
No one can make out the words to.
Just a cacophony of sound
filling the air
That everyone seems to choke on.

Better off to shut my mouth
Better off to pretend
I’m a nobody.

But I’m not a nobody;
I am a somebody.
I breathe the same air,
I am moved by the same sounds;
the sounds of a feeling
that cannot be given words to.

To everyone I meet
I am a stranger.
In their shadows I creep
afraid to face
their indifference.

Hey you! Got something to say?

